top of page

Specialty course helps you get more out of diving by introducing you to new types of scuba diving specialties. It's a great opportunity to work with your instructor to build your scuba diving skills and gain more confidence.

The Fun Part


Have you always wanted to try digital underwater photography? How about wreck diving? Here's your chance because you can sample three dives of your choice, get a taste of what you like, and feel more at ease in the water, strengthening your underwater skills and letting you enjoy scuba diving more than ever. Get credit! Each Adventure Dive may be credited toward the first dive of the corresponding Specialty course. This means you can be well on your path to becoming a Master Scuba Diver.

What You Learn


You can choose what you're most interested in learning. Need to work on your buoyancy skills? Try the Peak Performance Buoyancy Adventure Dive. Choose any three of the following Adventure Dives:


Adventure Dives available to scuba divers 10 years old and older:


  • Altitude Diver
  • Boat Diver
  • Digital Underwater Photography
  • Dry Suit Diver
  • Peak Performance Buoyancy
  • Underwater Naturalist
  • Underwater Navigator


Additional Adventure Dives available to scuba divers 12 years old and older:


  • Deep Diver
  • Diver Propulsion Vehicle
  • Drift Diver
  • Multilevel Diver
  • Night Diver
  • Search and Recovery Diver
  • Underwater Videography
  • Wreck Diver

The Scuba Gear You Use


You use all your basic scuba gear including your underwater compass. Depending on which three adventure dives you pick, you may also try out underwater photography equipment, DPVs (underwater scooters), a dive light, a dry suit, lift bags, a dive flag/float or other specialty gear.

The Learning Materials You Need


Adventures in Diving Manual and video on DVD provide information on more than 16 types of specialty diving. You'll use them as a guidebook to improve your diving skills and prepare for new experiences and adventures.


For all your learning materials and equipment, contact FREEDOM SCUBA.



To take the Adventure Diver course, you must be:


  • An Open Water Diver or Junior Open Water Diver certification (or qualifying certification from another organization)
  • 10 years old (Age 10-14 earn Junior Adventure Diver)

Your Next Adventure


After your Adventure Diver certification, you can take the next step by completing two more adventure dives. If you've completed five total adventure dives that include deep and navigation, you're an Advanced Open Water Diver.


Adventure Dives can also count towards Specialty Diver certifications. For example, if you liked your Night Adventure Dive so much that you wanted to take a complete Night Diver Specialty course, your Night Adventure Dive can count as the first dive of that specialty.


For more information about this or other courses have a chat with one of the FREEDOM SCUBA Team members.


Specialty Courses (added on to courses)

    bottom of page